skip to main content



The Technical Committee for Hydraulics Measurements and Experimental Methods (TCHMEM) of EWRI has organized the HMEM conference six times since 1994, when the first HMEM conference was held in Buffalo, NY.  Since then, successful conferences were held in Estes Park, Colorado (2002), Lake Placid, New York (2007), Snowbird, Utah (2012), and Durham, New Hampshire (2017).

Steering Committee:

  • Chair: Daniel Wren, Ph.D., M.ASCE, Research Hydraulic Engineer, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Co-chair: David Admiraal, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Associate Professor, College of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Secretary: Tony Wahl, P.E., M.ASCE, Hydraulic Engineer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
  • Local Chair: Karan Venayagamoorthy, Ph.D., Borland Professor and CSU Monfort Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Colorado State University

Additional Local Committee Members

  • Timothy Gates, Ph.D., Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Colorado State University
  • Robert Ettema, Ph.D., F.ASCE, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Colorado State University

Technical, Local, Workshop & Sponsorship Committee Members:

  • J.R. Rigby
  • Seyed Mohammad Hajimirzaie
  • Yavuz Ozeren
  • Chris Rehmann
  • Juan Gonzalez-Castro
  • Roger Kuhnle
  • Anne Lightbody
  • Alireza Habibzadeh
  • Connie Svoboda
  • Tracy Vermeyen
  • Kevin Oberg

Environmental & Water Resources Institute of ASCE

Created in 1999, the Environmental & Water Resources Institute (EWRI) is the recognized leader within ASCE for the integration of technical expertise and public policy in the planning, design, construction, and operation of environmentally sound and sustainable infrastructure impacting air, land, and water resources.

Learn more & join EWRI

jump to top